Posted in Uncategorized

HOW TO WATER A BASKET!

…”You have planted much, but have harvested little. You eat, but never have enough. You drink, but never have your fill. You put on clothes, but are not warm. You earn wages, only to put them in a purse with holes in it”… if you’re still trying to figure this out, this exactly is how to fill a perforated basket with water! (p.s: you’ll keep at it till Jesus comes but still wouldn’t have filled it up yet – mission impossible!)

image

Ever wondered why nothing ever works for you? Come on, you read all semester for an exam, you sure were supposed to get an “A” or at least something close to it but then you find yourself re-taking the course? You even feel like “they must be following me from my village ooo” – hehehe.

Or maybe you had a 99.9% chance of getting a contract but at the last moment, it was given to someone who you’re sure isn’t even better than you for the job? Your glory minute became your gory minute – chai!

Let’s try to imagine that you were just paid some stipend, salary, pocket-money, hard earned money sha, just for it to get stolen or missing before you even used a penny out of it… mo gbe, how can, what sort of this?!

Ahhh, or could it just be that new, hot, guy on the block who’s been giving you those kind smiles, engaging you in healthy and interesting conversations, making you feel cared for; just for you to realise on Val’s day that you aren’t the val… probably he’s got a real boo and was just being a sweet gentleman all the while… hehehe

I guess by now you get the story though; it just feels like the entire universe is against you. You’ve tried your best humanly possible to make things work for the best for you but still, zilch! You follow all the principles of the mathematics of life, play by the rules of engagement but like Haggai 1:6 you are busy for nothing! You even begin to question and compare yourself:

image

“I plant a lot but harvest little or nothing…
Wait ooo, ‘Bros A’ and I cultivated the same day and same area, how come it’s only my produce the termites and worms found to feed on or destroy?”

“I eat but never have enough…
Bia, no be me and Saleh chop that isi-ewu now-now-now together ni? Why am I still hungry? Is something wrong with my digestive system abi my stomach and intestines are leaking?”

“I drink but never have my fill. I put on clothes, but I’m not warm…
Na which kyn jazz be dis? Shey na the same jacket Tolu dey wear wey me too I follow wear… What’s up with my system now, why am I feeling cold and she’s not? Am I sick or something?”

“I earn wages, only to put them in a purse with holes in it…
Hian! See me see expensive trouble ooo… How come? There was no hole in my pocket this morning, how on earth did that money dissapear? Na wa ooo…”

At this point, a lot of us would have missed something really important. Something which only pricks our memory when we’ve gotten to the peak of our frustrations. It’s then we realise, we forgot something, someone rather – the owner of it all, the purpose for this all. Yes, we forgot God – the centre of it all!

image

Please, don’t get me wrong, you haven’t been through all you’ve been through as a punishment for anything; sure our heavenly Father loves us anyway, anyhow.

Back to the matter, yes, at some point we tend to be human and get so busy in ourselves and with our busy schedules that we unconsciously and gradually start putting God aside until He’s totally out of the picture in our lives. But remember He has said that without Him, we can do nothing. This only means that without God, you’d be like the Israelites in Haggai 1:6, running around in a circle, always almost there but never there, trying so hard to feel a basket with water #mission impossible#

image

So, what’s the crux of my story? Get reconnected, stay connected. Jesus at the centre of it all, from the beginning to the end. Got Jesus? – Keep Jesus!

image

*”they must be following me from my village” , “which kyn jazz be dis?”- African slang to express demonic attacks or occultism.

*”Bia, no be me and Saleh chop that isi-ewu together ni? ” – Saleh and I took that soup together.

*”Shey na the same jacket Tolu dey wear wey me too I follow wear” – Tolu and I are wearing the same jacket.

*chai, mo gbe, sha, hian, na wa ooo – Nigerian expressions of exclamation.

A-T -4-G!

Leave a comment